A Hunter Safety certification is mandatory for first time buyers when purchasing a California Hunting License. This certification is also valid in other states which require a Hunter Safety Certificate.
The Pacific Rod & Gun Club has licensed instructors qualified to teach the required Hunter Safety Course.
Find the 2013 Traditional and Home Study \ Internet Hunter Safety Class Schedules below.
Traditional Hunter Safety Education
This course is offered at the Club, as a public service, several times during the year, and lasts for 5 evenings, generally from 7:00pm to 10:00pm.
The class is open to children able to read and understand the test and to be alert and focused for the duration of each class (3 hours), however, no one under 10 years of age, please. Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult. Children must be 12 to obtain a license to hunt deer. Younger children can hunt pheasant, duck, etc. Please consult current California game laws before registering.
Hunter Safety Cost is $5.00*
NRA Certified Shotgun Course: fee $80.00*
*Handgun Safety Certificate: fee $25.00*
International Bow Hunter Education: fee $20.00*
Pre-registration is required for these classes. Please phone John Brusco for more information: 650-588-0924
The traditional training classes meet Monday-Friday evening. The training includes four, three hour class room sessions, including a live fire segment, and certification exam on Friday evening.
Time: 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM*
1st Session – January 21-25
2nd Session – March 18-22
3rd Session – May 20-24
4th Session – July 15-19
5th Session – August 19-23
*Prices and times subject to change. Confirm with John Brusco.
Home Study \ Internet Hunter Education
The California Department of Fish and Wildlife has started an Internet based program to improve access to Hunter Education and Certification. The student studies the online course material at their own pace and schedule. When they have completed the pre-certification exam, they are then eligible to take the review, practical, and written examination class (four hours). Successful completion of this four hour course gets the student their Hunter Education Certificate. Please note that the website California Pre-Certification Exam Voucher must be completed prior to attending the four hour class. Due to limited class size, pre-registration is recommended. There is no minimum age requirement for this course.
More information can be found on the Department of Fish and Wildlife Home Study web page.
Completion of one of the approved online courses is required for this class.
Prices listed were current as of January 10, 2013. Based on prior class results, students who study the web material pass the class regardless of which site they use.
The ‘distance learning’ review, practical and certification exam meets Saturday morning. This training program is based on completion of one of the approved online hunting safety courses. The web site California Pre-Certification Exam Voucher must be completed prior to this four class. Class size is limited to 25 students. These classes tend to fill 10 to 15 days before the class date, so pre-registration is strongly recommended.
*Dates and times are set below. Check with the instructor for available space.
*Pre-registration is suggested for this class.* *25 people max*
Instructor: Mark Boyle email@example.com
Time: 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
1st Session – February 23
2nd Session – April 27
3rd Session – June 30
4th Session – July 29
5th Session – August 31
6th Session – October 26
Department of Fish and Wildlife Hunter Safety Program
website: CA Hunter Education Home